School Governors

The instrument of government of St Mary’s Church of England Primary School, Bitteswell provides for the constitution of a body of School Governors.

The governing body of St. Mary’s C.of E  Primary School is responsible for setting the aims of the school, agree policies for achieving the aims and objectives, and act as a critical friend through monitoring and evaluation. The Head Teacher has responsibility for internal organisation, management and control of the school and for the implementation of the strategic framework established by the Governing Body. Governors are not expected to be involved in the day – to – day management of the school. The full Governing Body meets at least three times each academic year. It delegates responsibilities to a series of committees which meet regularly throughout the year.

Our committees are:

  • Admissions
  • Strategic – Children and learning
  • Resources – Finance, Premises and Personnel
  • Complaints and Exclusions (as required)
  • Pay Committee
  • Performance Management of Headteacher

Foundation Governors are appointed by the Diocesan Board of Education, staff governors are elected by the staff and parent governors by the parent body. The term of office is four years for all categories of governors at the school except for ex-officio.

Governing Body

Name Position
Mr Keith Burnham Chair
Mrs Anne Dean Foundation – Vice Chair
Curate Tom Brown Foundation
Mrs Margaret Foster Foundation
Vacancy Foundation
Mrs Anneli McCall Foundation
Mrs Ruth Craggs Foundation
Revd. Charlie Styles Ex-Officio
Mrs Becky Taylor Parent
Mrs Laura Green Parent
Mr Lee Evans Teacher
Mrs Bernie Spierin Co-Opted
Mrs Hazel Maher Head Teacher